June 24, 2009

The Henry Clay People, Red Cortez, New Tour Dates Added..

Photo Credit: adelach

Photo Credit: adelach

Good morning,

It’s funny how traveling makes you see your home in a new way. We’ve been back from tour for two weeks and Los Angeles seems, well, rather sprawl-y. Big. Dusty. Bright. Something of an ethnic stew with all the signs in Thai, Korean, Armenian and Farsi. Most places are just very much themselves: one language, one culture, one type of footwear. This city is a bit of everywhere, a bit of everyone, a bit of everything. And a bit of nothing.

You probably know this.

Speaking of the road, for our North American tour we have asked along the Henry Clay People and Red Cortez, two bands from the neighborhood that we believe in, admire and want to hang out with. You will too.

If you’ve never seen the fistfight between Pavement and Bruce Springsteen that is the Henry Clay People, then you have denied yourself one of the best live experiences a person can see. Somewhere along the way, rock got lost. Or at least that’s the argument. And the Henry Clay People have found it again. Their show is a raucous, loud, irreverent and buzzy piece of performance art that reminds you why anyone ever picked up an axe, plugged it into an amp and turned it up to 11. Check out there myspace page:

http://www.myspace.com/thehenryclaypeople

and listen to “Working Part Time.” Come early to the show. Sing. Clap. Raise a fist and BELIEVE.

Photo Credit: Erica Bruce

Photo Credit: Erica Bruce

In our finer moments, we are all Henry Clay People.

Speaking of believing, Red Cortez embody the idea of music as salvation, the melancholy hopes of poets and troubadours poured out on the stage in a romantic melange of beats, beats and Spanish prose. You can visit their myspace page at:

http://www.myspace.com/redcortezband

watch:

We can’t wait.

Also, we’ve got more dates to announce. We’ve added new shows in Hartford, Providence, Del Mar (near San Diego), and… um, Vienna (for the Frequency Festival):

Fri Jul 31 - Hartford, CT - Webster Theater - BUY TIX
Sun Aug 2 - Providence, RI - McFaddens - BRU Radio Show - ON SALE 6/26
Fri Aug 7 - Del Mar, CA - Del Mar Racetrack - BUY TIX
Thu Aug 20 - Vienna, Austria - Frequency Festival - BUY TIX

We will also be adding dates in Boston, Denver, Salt Lake City, and other cities in North America. Plus, we’ll be announcing a full tour in Australia and New Zealand, and piling on more dates in mainland Europe.

There’s also something VERY SPECIAL in the works in Los Angeles in December. We’ll fill you in as the date approaches.

Here’s a complete, chronological listing of upcoming tour dates, with ticket links:

TOUR DATES:
Sun Jun 28 - Milwaukee, WI - Summerfest - BUY TIX

Europe:
Sat Jul 11 – Dublin, Ireland - Oxygen Festival - BUY TIX
Sun Jul 12 – Balado, Kinross-Shire, Scotland - T in The Park - BUY TIX
Tue Jul 14 – Sheffield, UK - Leadmill – Make Up From Power Outage of May 6 - BUY TIX
Fri Jul 17 - Letisko Trencín, Slovakia - Pohoda Festival - BUY TIX
Sat Jul 18 – Suffolk, UK - Latitude Festival - BUY TIX

Asia:
Sat Jul 25 - Seoul, Korea - Valley Rock Festival - BUY TIX
Sun Jul 26 - Niigata, Japan - Fuji Rock Festival - BUY TIX

US:
Fri Jul 31 - Hartford, CT - Webster Theatre - BUY TIX
Sun Aug 2 - Providence, RI - McFaddens - BRU Radio Show - ON SALE 6/26
Tue Aug 4 - Cleveland, OH - House Of Blues - BUY TIX
Wed Aug 5 - Cincinnati, OH - Mad Hatter - BUY TIX
Fri Aug 7 - Del Mar, CA - Del Mar Racetrack - BUY TIX
Sun Aug 9 - Chicago, IL - Lollapalooza - BUY TIX

Europe:
Fri Aug 14 - Gampel, Switzerland - OpenAir Gampel BUY TIX
Sat Aug 15 - Leicester, UK - Summer Sundae - BUY TIX
Wed Aug 19 - Munich, Germany - 59:1 - ON SALE FRIDAY
Thu Aug 20 - Vienna, Austria - Frequency Festival - BUY TIX
Fri Aug 21 - Hasselt, Belgium - Pukkelpop Festival - BUY TIX
Sat Aug 22 - Biddinghuizen, Netherlands - Lowlands Festival - BUY TIX
Mon Aug 24 - Koln, Germany - Gebaeude 9 - ON SALE FRIDAY
Tue Aug 25 - Berlin, Germany - Frannz - ON SALE FRIDAY
Wed Aug 26 - Hamburg, Germany - Knust - ON SALE FRIDAY
Fri Aug 28 - Reading, UK - Reading Festival - BUY TIX
Sun Aug 30 - Leeds, UK - Leeds Festival - BUY TIX

Australia:
(Full Tour To Be Announced Soon in Australia & New Zealand)
Sat Sep 12 - Gosford, Australia - Coaster Festival - BUY TIX

North American Fall Tour:
Thu Sep 17 - Pomona, CA - The Fox Theatre - BUY TIX
Sun Sep 20 - Tempe, AZ - Tempe Beach Park - Arizona Fall Frenzy - BUY TIX
Thu Sep 24 - Boulder, CO - Boulder Theatre - BUY TIX
Fri Sep 25 - Omaha, NB - The Slowdown - BUY TIX
Sat Sep 26 - Des Moines, IA - People’s Court - BUY TIX
Mon Sep 28 - Lawrence, KS - Granada - BUY TIX
Tue Sep 29 - Tulsa, OK - Cain’s - BUY TIX
Wed Sep 30 - Dallas, TX - House Of Blues - BUY TIX
Thu Oct 1 - Houston, TX - House Of Blues - BUY TIX
Sat Oct 3 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park - Austin City Limits - BUY TIX
Tue Oct 6 - St. Petersburg, FL - State Theatre - BUY TIX
Wed Oct 7 - Atlanta, GA - Variety Loft - BUY TIX
Thu Oct 8 - Columbia, SC - Headliners - BUY TIX
Fri Oct 9 - Norfolk, VA - Norva - BUY TIX
Sat Oct 10 - Philadelphia, PA - Trocadero - BUY TIX
Mon Oct 12 - Washington, DC - 930 Club - BUY TIX
Thu Oct 15 - New York, NY - Webster Hall - BUY TIX
Sat Oct 17 - Albany, NY - Northern Lights - BUY TIX
Sun Oct 18 - Montreal, QC - Le Tulipe - BUY TIX
Mon Oct 19 - Toronto, ON - Phoenix - BUY TIX
Wed Oct 21 - Columbus, OH - Newport Music Hall - BUY TIX
Thu Oct 22 - Detroit MI - Crofoot - BUY TIX
Sat Oct 24 - Minneapolis, MN - Fine Line - BUY TIX
Wed Oct 28 - Vancouver, BC - Commodore - BUY TIX
Thu Oct 29 - Seattle, WA - Showbox Market - BUY TIX
Fri Oct 30 - Boise, ID - Knitting Factory - BUY TIX
Sat Oct 31 - Portland, OR - Roseland - BUY TIX
Mon Nov 2 - San Francisco, CA - Fillmore - BUY TIX

European Fall Tour:
Fri Nov 6 - London, UK - Shepherds Bush Empire - BUY TIX
Sat Nov 7 - Birmingham, UK - Academy - BUY TIX
Sun Nov 8 - Bristol, UK - Anson Rooms - BUY TIX
Tue Nov 10 - Glasgow, SCO - ABC - BUY TIX
Wed Nov 11 - Dublin, IRE - Olympia - BUY TIX
Thu Nov 12 - Manchester, UK - Ritz - BUY TIX
Sat Nov 14 - Oxford, UK - Academy - BUY TIX

(Mainland Europe will be announced soon)

We miss you, we love you, we’re thinking about how much easier teleportation would make things..

Views: 1059
Bookmark and Share

COMMENTS ( 0 )

Previous | Comments Page: 1 of 1 | Next

YOUR ACCOUNT

guest
Guest
Welcome Guest, You are not logged in. Social Networking Icons Join Now Log In